State Chamber of the Year Awards

To highlight best practices among state chambers and to provide recognition to COSC member chambers and their leaders who have distinguished themselves by providing exceptional services and results for their members, each year COSC honors a state chamber with the State Chamber of the Year (SCOTY) Award.

State chambers are encouraged to apply for the award, highlighting one or more of the following areas of achievement:

  • public policy,

  • political engagement,

  • membership & development,

  • organizational development,

  • communications, and

  • membership services.

      AWARDS FAQ      


2020 Winner Announced


Photo from left to right - 

From left to right: Wade Goodsell, Vice President of Membership & Partnerships, Scott Manley, Executive Vice President of Government Relations, Kurt Bauer, President & CEO, Nick Novak, Vice President of Communications & Marketing, Kay Kertz, Vice President of Finance & Human Resources

The Council of State Chambers (COSC) announced that the Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce (WMC) has been named the 2020 "State Chamber of the Year." The purpose of the annual State Chamber of the Year award is to bring attention to innovative initiatives and best practices that advance state chambers' mission and work and to provide deserved recognition to state chambers and their leaders who have distinguished themselves by providing exceptional services and results for their members.

“This award shows that peers around the country recognize WMC as an innovator and leader as they work to enhance and improve Wisconsin’s business climate,” said Lew Ebert, Executive Director of COSC. “We congratulate them on a job well done especially during these challenging and difficult times for businesses and business associations.”

“WMC has always strived to best serve its members, and 2020 was no exception,” said WMC President & CEO Kurt Bauer. “Facing a litany of daunting challenges, WMC’s talented staff showed resiliency, a hunger for innovation and a tireless will to provide value to the business community. It is an honor to receive this national award. It would not have been possible without the hard work and support from our Board of Directors, members and staff.”

Read the full press release HERE.


Past State Chamber of the Year Winners

  • 2019 - Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry

  • 2018 - Georgia Chamber of Commerce

  • 2017 - Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

  • 2016 - North Carolina Chamber